Book Review, Books, Reading, Uncategorized

FEED-MIRA GRANT REVIEW

“There comes a point when you need to get over the fear and get on with your life, and a lot of people don’t seem to be capable of that anymore. From blood tests to gated communities, we have embraced the cult of fear, and now we don’t seem to know how to put it back where it belongs.” 
― Mira GrantFeed

For those of you who may be unable to tell, I finished a new book today. Obviously. I don’t know what it is, but ever since I read the Martian I just have really been delving in to the science fiction/apocalyptic dystopian fiction. I feel like this may be the theme for the next few months so bear with me guys.

Right now though, we are going to jump in to the world of The Newsflesh Trilogy, and it’s first book, Feed.

So this series has been sitting on my shelf for a while. It took me a while to find all three parts of the trilogy, because I didn’t want to begin it until I had the entire trilogy and never have I been more glad to have all three books on hand.

Feed tells the story of journalist Georgia Mason and her brother Shaun as they follow the campaign trail of Senator Ryman several decades after the zombie apocalypse. After a series of deadly incidents, Georgia, Shaun and their fellow reporters realize that there is more going on behind the campaign than they realize. Soon they are in the middle of the discovery of the biggest conspiracy theories of the new century.

I mean, they’re journalists though. What are they going to do, not report it?

I was never one to really be in to the whole survivalist, zombie apocalypse, prepare yourself for the end of the world life. Now though, I am about to pack a survival kit in my car and line all my clothes with Kevlar. Like, that is how fantastic this book is.

Georgia is smart, resourceful. She’s the main character of the novel and she thinks everything through. She’s well connected in the world of online blogging, a top ranked “Newsie”, or a journalist specifically focused on the facts. She’s blunt, she’s crafty, she is essentially the perfect mix of Ravenclaw and Slytherin. If the zombie apocalypse ever does happen, she is the one person I would want to be stranded with. Or be, in general. Either one.

“I am, in fact, immortal when annoyed.” ― Mira GrantFeed

Shaun, her brother, is an “Irwin”, named after Steve Irwin the crocodile hunter. They are the one’s who like to go out and just see what exactly would happen if you, say, poked a zombie with a stick. Probably nothing good, is my guess. If Georgia is a Slytherin/Ravenclaw, Shaun is just hardcore Gryffindor.

“Now I’m a God, but tomorrow, when you have to stop me from playing with dead things again, you’ll be right back to calling me an idiot, won’t you?” ― Mira GrantFeed

Immediately, you grow to love them. You grow to love their relationship, which I’m so glad is as siblings instead of romantic interests. Neither of them in the book have a romantic arc, and the plot sincerely focuses on the twisted plots and schemed aimed against them, and the general shadiness of the government.

The world is so realistic, enough technological advancements to make it seem like a future in which the society is able to somewhat pull itself together after the zombie apocalypse. And the novel, although obviously it does have a lot to do with fighting zombies, is not JUST about that.

“We are a nation equally afraid of gathering together and being alone.” ― Mira GrantFeed

This is a full fledged political thriller with complex and well developed characters.

And zombies.

What more could you possibly ask for?

 

 

Leave a Reply

