NOT IF I SEE YOU FIRST-ERIC LINDSTROM REVIEW

22701879

“I’ve been hearing a lot about standing in front of trains. You know I certainly would if it came down to it; I just think it would be better for all of us if we didn’t have to.”
Eric Lindstrom, Not If I See You First

So I recently talked about this book today in my wrap up video, which I will link to you HERE.

This was a solid “okay” book for me.

The plot centers around Parker, a blind teenager, who’s father has just died tragically right before the beginning of the school year. This is also the year that Parker’s high school is merged with another local school, bringing someone back in to Parker’s life who had hurt her tremendously before.

There are a few main conflicts here, Parker and her ex-best friend, and Parker’s dilemma over whether or not to join the high school track team.

Now, the big question. Do I like Parker? Do I root for her in the story? The answer is, yes. She is snarky and speaks her mind constantly, and doesn’t care what people think of her. However, there’s snarky and then there is just plain mean and she doesn’t care when she crosses the line.

“Awww,” I interrupt him with my sweet voice. “You figured that out because you just heard someone say it. And I know your name for the very same reason. Douchebag isn’t very nice, though, so I’ll just call you D.B.”

“I’m–“

“Shhh…” I shake my head. “Don’t ruin it.”
Eric Lindstrom, Not If I See You First

There is definitely a redemption arc towards the end, along with enough heartbreaking moments to really make you remember what it was like to be a teenager in high school, and I am glad that there is enough change shown in the character.

But the plot was just predictable, your typical teenage high school troubles and Parker was a bit too much Mary Sue and had too much of a “not like those other girls” attitude for me to really enjoy the book as much as I would have liked.

Did I think it was good? Yes, for your typical YA novel it was really good. But in all honesty it felt like a novel that I’d read before.

I will say that I feel like the arc between Parker and Scott was believable all the way until the ending, at their confrontation Scott just seemed a little too out of character and I didn’t buy their conversation really.

Overall, it was an average book. Not bad, not great. Was it something that I would go back and read over again? Probably not.

Leave a Reply

