Book Review, Books, Reading, Uncategorized

MAGIC STUDY-MARIA V. SNYDER

“Living is a risk,’ I snapped at him. ‘Every decision, every interaction, every step, every time you get out of bed in the morning, you take a risk. To survive is to know you’re taking that risk and to not get out of bed clutching illusions of safety.”
Maria V. Snyder, Magic Study

Alright guys, I did it.

I read Magic Study, the second book in the Study Series by Maria V. Snyder.

The sequel to the book that I did not enjoy as much as I wanted to, and I have some feelings about it.

This book picks up from after Yelena leaves the kingdom of Ixia to reunite with her family in Sitia and undergo training to control her powerful magical abilities. While in Sitia, Yelena feels estranged and different from the people there, mainly because of her ties to Ixia, and she has trouble connecting to the people.

However, trouble is brewing in Sitia as an evil man from an exiled clan begins kidnapping and murdering magicians for his own power. Soon enough, it’s up to Yelena and her companions to stop him before he destroys magic in Sitia forever.

I actually enjoyed Magic Study a lot more than Poison Study, and I think it’s because I was already familiar with a majority of the characters as well as Snyder’s writing.

This book was a lot more interesting to read, because I felt like there was a lot more action and adventure happening.

The magical world of Sitia is more enchanting and interesting than the kingdom of Ixia, and there are more characters and traditions introduced that are interesting and just plain fun to read.

Yelena is also a character that I have grown to love, her sarcasm, independence, and general no nonsense attitude is even stronger in this book and I was very impressed with the continued character development that is present.

So did this book make me want to take back everything that I’ve said about Poison Study? Sadly, no.

There are still parts of the novel that I cringed at due to the amount of detail skipped, conclusions jumped, and general cheesiness of some of the dialogue, but I felt like because I knew to expect that from Poison Study, I was not as unprepared. It may just be Snyder’s writing style.

I also felt like some of the characters were unnecessary, mainly Yelena’s parents and her brother Leif. Near the end of the novel, Yelena’s parents feel more like a plot device than actual characters, and the way Leif is written as well just doesn’t feel natural or realistic(ha! realism in a fantasy novel. Anyway.) and I had a hard time believing the actions that he took or his reasoning. They were very one dimensional and I just feel like their presence wasn’t necessary.

“Fourteen years without a mother had me believe I could be stoic when I finally met her.”
Maria V. Snyder, Magic Study

Although I will admit, there is a touching scene with Yelena and her mother towards the end of the book. But then it gets confusing because one minute they’re outside sitting by a tree and the next line is Yelena saying how her mother held her while they cried in bed? So confused.

So overall, I feel like I liked this novel better than it’s predecessor because of the fact that I was already used to the main character and her friends.

(Sidenote: Valek is the perfect man and I absolutely LOVE Yelena’s relationship with him. It’s perfect and my favorite part of the books. Also, Ari and Janco are the best people ever and I want an entire series about them. Please and thank you.)

“He made a weak attempt to look innocent, but I knew better. ‘Should I guess how many concealed weapons you have or should I strip search you?’
‘A strip search is the only way to be absolutely certain.’ Valek’s deep blue eyes danced with delight.”
Maria V. Snyder, Magic Study

But it still made me cringe and there were so many parts that just didn’t make sense.

So I know I said that I wasn’t going to pick up the rest of the Study Series. But. The newest one comes out this month. And there’s three more to go.

And Magic Study ends on a cliffhanger.

Sigh. I’m already invested now. So yeah, if I can get them from the library, then I GUESS I’ll read the next ones too.

Blah.

 

Leave a Reply

