Book Review, Books, Reading, Uncategorized

THE GIRL WHO FELL FROM THE SKY-HEIDI W. DURROW REVIEW

“Math can explain the reason there’s one out of four chance that I’d have blue eyes. But it doesn’t explain why me.”
Heidi W. Durrow, The Girl Who Fell from the Sky

This book would make a fantastic movie.

No, seriously. It really would.

This story centers around Rachel, a half black half Danish sole survivor of a family tragedy who moves to live with her grandmother in a mostly black neighborhood. Considered an outsider due to her biracial heritage, Rachel learns to accept herself and her heritage in order to finally face the truth of her painful past.

I will admit, it took me a while to get truly in to this plot. It is told from so many perspectives that at times you lose track of who is actually telling the story at any given time. Each of these perspectives are important, of course, and give insight to why the tragedy happened to Rachel’s family in the first place.

There are some details that are confusing that make me think that I wish there weren’t as many people telling the story, but this is also the exact same reason why I believe that seeing this book as a movie would be so fantastic.

Rachel’s character is very entertaining to read from, as she definitely speaks what she thinks and has her own opinions.I love how we are able to grow with her in this novel, starting in childhood and ending in early adulthood. We get to witness her develop and evolve in to someone who believes in herself. However, her strong willed opinions do lead to a lot of conflict between her and her remaining family, mainly her grandmother, and eventually culminates in the end of the novel.

“Grandma sees these things when she talks about them and gestures with her hands like she’s painting brush strokes in the air. The way Grandma paints her dreams for me, there’s a low sky.”
Heidi W. Durrow, The Girl Who Fell from the Sky

I love how the plot was unfolded, and I genuinely enjoyed finding out what really happened to Rachel on the day that she lost her family. This was my second time reading this book and honestly I feel that I was able to gain so much more and understand it a lot better than I was the first time through.

So, in my opinion, read the book twice to fully grasp everything that’s happening and enjoy how the perspectives are shared.

But seriously, let’s hope for a movie for this one. I would love to see this on screen.

“I’m not the color of my skin. I’m a story. One with a past and a future unwritten.”
Heidi W. Durrow, The Girl Who Fell from the Sky

1 thought on “THE GIRL WHO FELL FROM THE SKY-HEIDI W. DURROW REVIEW”

Leave a Reply

