A NIGHT WITHOUT ARMOR-JEWEL KILCHER REVIEW

“We all need to demand the happiness for ourselves we desire. Fight for it. Wrestle it out of the clenched fist of the world you live in”
Jewel

So I decided to branch out in to a genre that I have been wanting to read for quite a while now, but haven’t had much access to.

Today’s book was a collection of poetry, called “A Night Without Armor” written by Jewel Kilcher. I’ve always been very interested in poetry, and when I saw this book at a local thrift store and saw it was only .50 cents? There was no way I could let a deal like that go to waste!

I wasn’t really sure what to expect when beginning this collection, there was not much to go on from the inside excerpt of it. However, I was pleasantly surprised to find that there were both sets of individual poems and paired poems. So there were parts of it that I was able to read in a succession which I appreciated.

Okay, so about this collection. I enjoyed reading most of the poems, there were a few that really resounded with me and I believe were really insightful about love and family and just life as a woman in general.

There were definitely a few poems that I thought were a little overdone? None that were really inherently not enjoyable, but I thought that there was some that just sounded kind of plain or too mainstream/similar to other poems that I have read.

“The things you fear
are undefeatable
not by their nature
but by your approach”
Jewel, A Night Without Armor

There were definitely certain poems, however, where it felt as if the author was trying too hard to be profound and those were some that I had to skim over.

“We can’t underestimate the value of silence. We need to create ourselves, need to spend time alone. If you don’t, you risk not knowing yourself and not realizing your dreams.”
Jewel

Overall though I really enjoyed this collection. It was simple, relatable, and was a fun short read for the day!

Leave a Reply

