Book Review, Books, Reading, Uncategorized

THE TRIAL OF FALLEN ANGELS-JAMES KIMMEL JR. REVIEW

AS I HAVE NOT YET GONE TO BED THIS REVIEW IS NOT LATE AND THEREFORE DO NOT JUDGE ME.

Disneyland happened today, which means I didn’t get back at a time I thought I would and generally that’s why I’m uploading this later than usual.

Anyway, let’s talk about this book.

The Trial of Fallen AngelsΒ takes place after the death of a lawyer, who suddenly finds herself at a train station in what can be considered a purgatory of sorts, and that her new position is one of the prosecutors there to bring souls before God and present their case to find out whether or not they go to heaven or hell. While there she must also figure out the mysterious circumstances surrounding her own death, and whether or not there is corruption in the system that she now serves.

Okay, doesn’t the premise of this novel sound just absolutely amazing? It makes you want to run out and grab a copyΒ right now and read it without stop.

Doesn’t it?

Yeah, those were my feelings too. I was SO EXCITED to read this novel. I loved the plot, and I thought that the entire premise just sounded amazing. Even the title sounds great!

So imagine my disappointment when I find that the writing is just utterly…lacking.

Positives first: The way that the court cases are presented(through memories) are great because that is where we get the most satisfying parts of the novel. I think that the whole plot idea in general is just absolutely amazing and I commend the author for taking his creativity with that.

And now the negatives.

Overall, the main character, Brek, is just genuinely boring to read from. She is very moral and just, a great lawyer and I can see why she has been chosen. But you get no sense of urgency from her. In fact, there really isn’t a sense of urgency in any of the characters of the novel. It’s almost like they just genuinely don’t care what happens, and that made this book just such an absolute struggle to read.

The plot also went a completely different direction than I thought it would based on how the summary was written. I was expecting there to be a lot more character development and just personality from both Brek and the other lawyers and that was just missing.

So I don’t know. In the words of my old softball coach, “it was a million dollar play with a ten cent execution.”

Leave a Reply

