Book Review, Books, Reading, Uncategorized

THE KITCHEN HOUSE-KATHLEEN GRISSOM REVIEW

SO I AM SO LATE ON THIS REVIEW AND I PROMISE I HAVE REASONS AS TO WHY

Okay. So I was working on a short story for the literary journal through my school, and it ended up being around twenty pages long and there was so much editing and general work that needed to be done along with it. So, ultimately, I just ended up taking forever with it.

BUT NO LONGER WILL I BE LATE ON THESE REVIEWS(….HOPEFULLY)

Okay, so. This review is for the week of February from the 14th-20th. I don’t remember which day exactly I read this book, I’m leaning towards the 18th but I’m not 100% sure.

Lavinia is an Irish immigrant with only scattered memories of her family, who comes to America via a boat at seven years old. With no family and nobody to claim her, she comes to live on a tobacco plantation, where she is set to live and work with the slaves of the kitchen house. While she begins to feel at home in this world, she essentially is straddling the two worlds, and eventually must make a choice that proves to have dire consequences

This book is an interesting take on an aspect of historical fiction that is usually not explored. I found Lavinia’s character as well as the others to be really interesting and I enjoyed reading from the multiple points of view and perspective.

However, this book was just an average read to me. I feel like there was a lot more that could have been done with it, and that the author relied on other aspects of dramatization that she didn’t really need to in the story.

SUBSCRIBE TO MY YOUTUBE CHANNEL FOR OTHER BOOKISH RELATED THOUGHTS!

Leave a Reply

