Book Review, Graphic Novels & Comics, Reading, unboxing

Something WICKED This Way Comes- August Owlcrate Review

owlcrate review edit 2 .jpg

 

Hey friends! Been a while, huh? I’ve come to you with an unboxing video and it’s been absolutely AGES since I’ve done one of these! 

This month’s box theme was “Something Wicked This Way Comes…”  and there are some spoilers ahead so be warned! All of the items in this box were inspired by YA horror/mystery. Included in this box were: 

  • Edgar Allan Poe socks from Out of Print
  • Dark Arts Medium Roast Coffee from Happenstance Coffee
  • Sleepy Hollow and Other Stories by Washington Irving, published by Rock Paper Books
  • A sticker inspired by This Savage Song by Victoria Schwab and designed by Evie Bookish 
  • Double sided bookmark from Treehouse of Books inspired by Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo
  • The Hearts We Sold by Emily Lloyd-Jones

IMG_3174

The coffee that I got was absolutely delicious, and I’m not a huge coffee fan so that should say something. I’m also completely in love with the Six of Crows bookmark, but then again I’m in love with absolutely everything that has to do with the Six of Crows universe. 

I’m also really excited for the book of the month. The Hearts We Sold is something completely different, much darker than many of the other books that I’ve gotten through Owlcrate and I’m a huge fan of those kinds of books. I’ve included the summary of the book down below, so you guys can check it out as well! 

owlcratebook2

When Dee Moreno makes a deal with a demon—her heart in exchange for an escape from a disastrous home life—she finds the trade may have been more than she bargained for. And becoming “heartless” is only the beginning. What lies ahead is a nightmare far bigger, far more monstrous than anything she could have ever imagined.

IMG_3172

 

What do you guys think of this month’s box? Overall, I really loved it. I think that Owlcrate is one of the best subscription boxes out there, and I would love to know your opinion on it! Did you guys like this month’s box? Have any favorites here? 

Let me know!

-Gabrielle 

 

 

Leave a Reply

